Chairman's Monthly Message April 2013    

Dear Members,

It is a great honour to be elected as the 8th Chairman of IESA. I have been associated with IESA right from inception and have been an EC member under the chairmanship of Janakiraman , Pradip Dutta and Satya Gupta; I was part of first market research team of the F&S report published in 2005; and I served as the convener for Vision Summit and Technovation awards. To take over as the Chairman at this crucial juncture when we have just started our journey as IESA is indeed a privilege.

Let me first welcome the new EC members - Raj Khare, B V Naidu and Vinay Shenoy. I am very fortunate to have three ex-Chairmen - Raj Khare, B V Naidu and Satya Gupta - supporting me in this EC. On behalf of the new EC, I promise you that we will do our best to take IESA to next level. In my first message to you, let me share with you my agenda for this year.

There is no change in our Vision 2020. We want to make India a powerhouse in electronics and semiconductors and aggressively promote Made-in-India electronic products for the global market. Additionally, this year our focus is on our members. Based on the member engagement survey and the numerous discussions we have had with members, we have identified the following three top questions and concerns of our members:

  • How can our members leverage the opportunities available in the ESDM industry today?
  • How can our members take advantage of the various government schemes like the EMC, M-SIPS, PMA and the upcoming EDF?
  • How can our members, particularly startups, get better access to funding? Can entrepreneurs get access to incubation centers to put their ideas to test?

To address these needs, we have put together an extensive 10-point charter for this year. Another area of emphasis for us this year is on-the-ground implementation. We are going to strengthen the IESA secretariat team by appointing a VP Operations to actively manage execution of various initiatives. Further, to ensure timely implementation of our charter, we have clearly identified specific EC owners for each of our planned action items.

We have also started putting together teams to get started with our various initiatives. For example, on the state-level ESDM policy framework initiative, we have already identified State Champions for some key states: Sanjay Nayak of Tejas Network for Karnataka; Pradeep Dharane of AMCC for Maharashtra; Pratul Shroff of e-Infochips for Gujarat; BV Naidu of Sagitaur Ventures for Odisha and AP; Vivek Sharma of ST Microelectronics for UP and Punjab; and Raja Manickam and Veerappan of Tessolve for Tamil Nadu.

Another key initiative for us this year is growing our member-base beyond the 250+ mark. This is something that we cannot achieve without active support from all of you. Very soon we will send you membership drive mailer that you can forward to all your contacts and help us attract good members from the ESDM community.

As we prepare to implement our 10-point charter, please feel free to suggest any changes or additions to the same. You can also indicate the initiatives that you would be interested in leading / contributing to. Also, I will be very happy to hear from you on how we can improve domestic manufacturing of systems and components, attract investments into the country and build Brand India.

I look forward to your active participation and support in all our initiatives.

Please write to me at with your comments and suggestions.

Best Regards

Sanjeev Keskar

Chairman - IESA